Make your own Instant Noodles at home!

Today I woke up with this craving for instant noodles. Not exactly the most nutritious breakfast so I went ahead and grabbed what I had on hand and made my own. And it was… Pretty good! I think I’ll play around with it some more in the future but it filled me up and I didn’t feel suuuper bad afterward. I’ll leave the recipe at the end of this post if you have a craving like I did. And if you decide to play around with it, let me know! I’d love to see variations.

I also woke up really sore from Alex and I’s bike adventure yesterday. We ended up riding for 40 km in total! If you cycle for a hobby I’m sure that’s nothing to you, but for me and my untrained self, it was definitely a notable accomplishment haha!

To be completely honest, I wasn’t even sure I was going to go on the bike ride. You see, I have a bit of anxiety when it comes to the “unknown”. In short, I often overthink things and freak myself out over things I don’t have control over. Over the years I’ve tried really hard to overcome my overthinking (when it happens) and to face more challenges. Once I’m doing it or after I’ve done it, I feel fine and pretty darn accomplished, hence why I make such a point out of overcoming the initial hump.

Actually, last week I rode to work the whole week and I actually grew to really love it. At first, I thought I couldn’t do it at all. Then, I thought I couldn’t do it without Alex. Then, I was riding on my own! I suppose my next step is to actually ride by myself on a route I’m not familiar with. I’ll make sure to let you know if that happens. Actually, you know what’s weird? I use to ride a lot back in Taipei. In fact, on bike paths less safe than the ones here in Amsterdam! Yet, I’m nervous about riding here?! What the hell is up with that haha. I think it’s because there are a lot more cyclists on the road here compared to Taipei. Or maybe it’s just because I knew the streets better? Who knows. But that’s okay. I guess I just need to keep at it until I feel more confident. Is there something that makes you anxious like that? How do you overcome it?

Anyways, I think the best part about going on that bike ride was the satisfying feeling of arriving home with our cheeky takeaway food and plopping down on the couch to watch Westworld LOL. I ordered a grilled veggie burrito bowl at this place called ‘Salsa Shop’ on Kinkerstraat and it was pretty tasty. Mmm… I’m hungry just thinking about it. And I was surprised to find that it wasn’t that expensive and the quantity was pretty decent. I wanted to take a photo but I was famished so I completely forgot. But it looked like a standard burrito bowl so I’ll leave it to your imagination. Alex and I avoid eating out too much these days because it’s quite expensive here in Amsterdam. But we definitely have days where we just don’t feel like cooking or we feel like treating ourselves to something we’re craving. Alex devoured a broodje doner kebab and a big mac. Funny story, he actually wanted a dürüm doner (doner kebab in wrap form) but they must’ve misunderstood. He loved it anyways so it’s all good.

It’s already 5 in the afternoon. Yikes, where the heck has the day gone?! But, it’s also time to think about what I’m going to cook tonight. Woohoo!

But first, it’s recipe time.


IMG_1162 edit

Super easy instant noodles recipe

What you’ll need:

Egg noodles (I used egg noodles but you can use whatever you desire)
1 x Veggie stock cube (you can also use chicken stock)
A handful of baby spinach
Turmeric
Onion + garlic powder
Chili flakes
Black pepper

(An egg would’ve been good too!)

How to make it:

  1. Boil water in a pot and then add in egg noodles. Let cook until the noodles start to soften.
  2. Crumble in your veggie stock cube. Stir it around a little, and make sure there aren’t any clumps.
  3. Add a little pinch of onion powder and garlic powder. I feel as though this is kind of optional because the stock already has some nice flavors.
  4. I then added a little pinch of turmeric just for a nice yellowy color and for the health benefits. Again, totally optional.
  5. Add in chili flakes for an extra kick and I finished mine off with a crack of black pepper. At this point, your noodles should be cooked and if you want, you can now turn the heat off and crack in an egg!

Like I said, this was kind of experimental and it’s what I had on hand. Do you have a recipe for DIY instant noodles?

It would absolutely make my day if you could leave a comment letting me know how you feel about this post and follow my blog for updates everytime I post! Thank you, for joining me for this meal of instant noodles and I’ll chat to you guys soon!

The chatty foodie,
over & out

Leave a Reply

