Perfect last minute mashed potatoes!

I am a self-proclaimed potato lover. There was one point in my life where I actually had to stop eating chips (or crisps as they say in America) and go cold turkey on them. I remember my boyfriend back then actually stopped me to tell me I was eating way too much. Thankfully that didn’t mean cutting out potato altogether *phew*. But really though, I’ll eat potatoes done any kind of way. Except, if I have to eat it off someone’s foot or it’s mixed with something horrible of course. I don’t love it that much haha. My point is, potatoes can do no wrong in my opinion.

Today, I’ll be sharing with you guys my super simple mashed potato recipe. I have made “fancier” mashed potatoes with different ingredients, but I love to do this one on days where I just want to throw something together quickly but also have it be delicious and comforting. It costs potato to make which basically means it’s, well, highly affordable! I like to think of this mashed potato recipe as ‘the girl next door’ of mashed potatoes. It’s quite simple at first glance, easy going, but actually full of depth when you get to know it.

IMG_1319 edit



My ‘The girl next door’ Mashed potatoes

What you’ll need:

Potatoes (I used about 6 small potatoes to make enough for two)
1 1/2 tbs room temperature butter (or margarine)
1/4 cup of Milk to start with
1 heaped tbsp Dijon mustard (adjust to own liking)
Chilli flakes (optional)
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
1/2 tsp Onion Powder
1/2 Italian herbs
Salt & Pepper

How to make it:

1. Cut up potatoes into small cubes and add it to pot. Cover with cold water and turn to medium-high heat. Cook until fork tender.2. Drain the potatoes and return them to the same pot.

3. Immediately add the 1/4 cup of Milk and start mashing until the milk has mixed with the potatoes. I find it absorbs the best when the potatoes are nice and hot. At this point, you can add more milk if you prefer your potatoes a little ‘creamier’. I would add it a little bit by little so you don’t end up with too much.

4. Now you can add the butter, dijon mustard, garlic powder, onion powder, chili flakes, and salt and pepper. If your butter/margarine has been sitting at room temperature, go ahead and add without melting. But if it’s a little on the cold side, melting it a little bit in the microwave will help it mix in a lot better.

5. Mix well and continue mashing to whatever consistency you like!

6. Taste test and adjust seasoning if necessary and voila! You’re done 🙂

If you try this recipe and have any alterations of your own, I’d love to hear from you! Always open to some feedback and to learn more from my fellow food lovers! Also, don’t forget to click follow (or subscribe via e-mail for non-WordPress users) so you know when there’s a new post!

The chatty foodie,
over & out

Leave a Reply

